Greetings from Media Day

I’m here at AT&T Park, awaiting the beginning of Giants Media Day. I just rode up in an elevator with Brian Sabean, Santiago Casilla, and a bunch of people I don’t know, which was an interesting experience. Now I’m staked out at Sergio Romo‘s table right now, which will hopefully ensure that I get a chance to talk to him.

The list of players and coaches that are expected to be here, available to the media, is long –30, to be exact — but if last year’s event was any indication, some of them won’t show up. It will probably be hard to get a word in edgewise with guys like Buster Posey and Tim Lincecum because they’re generally crowded by the mainstream media, but I’m hoping to get an opportunity to talk one-on-one with guys like Madison Bumgarner and Sergio Romo (among many others).

At 1:30, a select group of bloggers, myself included, will be interviewing Brian Sabean. As far as I know (granted, this is only my second Media Day), this is the first time anything like that has been set up. I’m not exactly sure who will be there, but I know Crazy Crabbers and Bay Area Sports Guy are planning on coming. We promise not to just lob Sabean a bunch of softballs…

Anyway, should be fun. I’ll try to capture some of the interviews on audio, or video, or through some other means (maybe I’ll just end up posting the transcripts). We’ll see. I’ll probably be posting the content throughout the next week, so that should be something to look forward to. Last year on Media Day, the Giants announced that they had extended Brian Sabean and Bruce Bochy, and Pablo Sandoval had his post-Operation Panda 2.0 press conference. Hopefully some equally newsworthy things are in store for us today…

Leave a Reply

